Deleting your GOV.UK One Login
How to delete your GOV.UK One Login, and what happens if you do this.
- From:
- Government Digital Service
- Published
- 26 October 2023
- Last updated
- 27 February 2025 — See all updates
You can delete your GOV.UK One Login at any time. But if you need a GOV.UK One Login in the future you’ll have to create a new one.
Deleting your GOV.UK One Login will delete your:
- sign in details
- identity information (if you’ve proved your identity with GOV.UK One Login)
- record of the services you’ve accessed with GOV.UK One Login
- GOV.UK email subscriptions (if you have any)
It will not delete the personal information held by services you’ve used.
You will no longer be able to sign in to use any service with GOV.UK One Login.
If you can sign in to your GOV.UK One Login
To delete your GOV.UK One Login:
- Sign in to your GOV.UK One Login.
- Go to ‘Security’.
- At the bottom of the page, select the ‘Delete your GOV.UK One Login’ link.
- Enter your password and select ‘Continue’.
- Select the ‘Delete your GOV.UK One login’ button.
If you cannot sign in to your GOV.UK One Login
The support team will need to delete your GOV.UK One Login. Get help and contact GOV.UK One Login.
Contact GOV.UK One Login if you need more help.
Updates to this page
Published 26 October 2023Last updated 27 February 2025 + show all updates
-
Updated instructions on how to delete your GOV.UK One Login if you cannot sign in.
-
Added translation
Sign up for emails or print this page
Update history
2026-09-28 09:00
Updated to explain that your GOV.UK One Login is automatically deleted if you do not sign in for 5 years and clarified what information will be deleted.
2025-10-06 14:47
Added information about what happens to any digital documents you’ve saved to the app when you delete your GOV.UK One Login.
2025-02-27 11:34
Updated instructions on how to delete your GOV.UK One Login if you cannot sign in.
2023-10-26 09:05
Added translation