Change of https://www.gov.uk/guidance/deleting-your-govuk-one-login

Change description : 2025-10-06 14:47:00: Added information about what happens to any digital documents you’ve saved to the app when you delete your GOV.​UK One Login. [Guidance and regulation]

Showing diff : 2025-02-27 11:35:23.759552830 +00:00..2025-10-06 13:47:52.229932263 +00:00

Guidance

Deleting your GOV.UK One Login

How to delete your GOV.UK One Login, and what happens if you do this.

You can delete your GOV.UK One Login at any time. But if you need a GOV.UK One Login in the future you’ll have to create a new one.

Deleting your GOV.UK One Login will delete your: 

  • sign in details - this means you’ll no longer be able to sign in to any services or apps with GOV.UK One Login
  • identity information (if you’ve proved your identity with GOV.UK One Login)
  • record of the services you’ve accessed with GOV.UK One Login
  • GOV.UK email subscriptions (if you have any) 

It will notalso deletemean theyou personalcan informationno heldlonger byview servicesor share any documents you’ve used.added to your GOV.UK One Login app.

YouDeleting willyour noGOV.UK longerOne beLogin ablewill tonot signdelete inthe topersonal useinformation anyheld serviceby withservices GOV.UKyou’ve One Login.used.

If you can sign in to your GOV.UK One Login

To delete your GOV.UK One Login:

  1. Sign in to your GOV.UK One Login.
  2. Go to ‘Security’. Security. 
  3. At the bottom of the page, select the ‘DeleteDelete your GOV.UK One Login’Login link.
  4. Enter your password and select ‘Continue’. Continue. 
  5. Select the ‘DeleteDelete your GOV.UK One login’login button.

If you cannot sign in to your GOV.UK One Login

The support team will need to delete your GOV.UK One Login. Get help and contact GOV.UK One Login.

Contact GOV.UK One Login if you need more help.

Updates to this page

Published 26 October 2023

Last updated 276 FebruaryOctober 2025 + show href="#full-history">+ show all updates
    1. Updated instructions on how to delete your GOV.UK One Login if you cannot sign in.

Sign up for emails or print this page

Update history

2026-09-28 09:00
Updated to explain that your GOV.​UK One Login is automatically deleted if you do not sign in for 5 years and clarified what information will be deleted.

2025-10-06 14:47
Added information about what happens to any digital documents you’ve saved to the app when you delete your GOV.​UK One Login.

2025-02-27 11:34
Updated instructions on how to delete your GOV.​UK One Login if you cannot sign in.

2023-10-26 09:05
Added translation